Project 3 Photographing the unseen

All three of these projects are examples of personally driven work but they become universal when we can relate to the feelings they present by visiting our own
personal histories.

Which of these projects resonates most with you, and why?

I viewed the three case studies by Peter Mansell, Dewald Botha and Jodie Taylor. I found all three really interesting to view and great to see examples of other students work.

I liked how Peter Mansell gave the viewer a looking glass into his life by using photography as a means of expression and an aid in understanding the life of a person with a disability. I can relate to the idea that once you get past the technical aspects, gear and creating ‘beautiful images’ there is a whole other world of exploration in photography. That deeper human connection. I also really related to the idea of photography as a cathartic experience, I find more and more its (photography) a means of venting this stuff that I have to get to out of me or its been bottled inside of me, unsure how to explain or express it in words but the visual language of photography gives you the voice to get that stuff off your chest, say how you really feel, no BS. Photography can cut straight through all the crap to let you say what’s really important to you.

I related to the Dewald Botha’s Ring Road, exploring how he felt in a world that can’t slow down, everything is 100 miles an hour and the search for beauty in a chaotic urban environment.  I like how his exploration of place and landscape turned into an inwards journey of personal discovery and deeper reflection.

How do you feel about the loss of authorial control that comes when the viewer
projects their own experiences and emotions onto the images you’ve created?

I have mixed feelings about it. I have spoken with other friends who are artists and they have said it can at times be really frustrating when you have created this piece of art with a deep personal connection then some people say they love it, some hate it, others say they don’t get it or they interpret it in an entirely different way to how you intended. I guess much of this is reflected on an individuals own background, believes and circumstances to how they may interpret a photograph or series of photographs. I know for sure that art is subjective, I have seen some photography which has left me entirely baffled and other photography that has brought me to tears.

Sometimes it can be enlightening to have a different perspective, they may see something that you never realised, it may bring a whole different light to your work. I would like to think I would defend the original intention of a photographic project but I am not so arrogant to think my ideas won’t evolve over time looking back at a piece of work or even change entirely. I think if the work has had a clearly developed thought process behind it, then it should say what it needs to say and people can take from it what they will or move on.

 

 

Leave a Reply

