Image and Text Exercise 2

Choose a poem that resonates with you then interpret it through photographs.

Don’t attempt to describe the poem but instead give a sense of the feeling of the
poem and the essence it exudes.

‘There is a pleasure in the pathless Woods’

‘There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
There is a rapture on the lonely shore,
There is society, where none intrudes,
By the deep sea, and music in its roar:
I love not man the less, but Nature more,
From these our interviews, in which I steal
From all I may be, or have been before,
To mingle with the Universe, and feel
What I can ne’er express, yet cannot all conceal.’

– George Gordon Byron

fullsizerender

 

There is a pleasure in the Pathless Woods

The images have an intentional repetition. I used the compass from my i-Phone standing in one spot within the woods taking 5 photographs; to my North, to my East, to my South, to my West and finally to the Universe. I am deep in the woods and I am surrounded by trees everywhere, as far as my eye can see, in every direction. For me this reflects how I feel about the poem. To remove a photo would not give the sense of being surrounded deep in the woods at one with nature. I had considered a sixth final image of my feet with the leaves and fauna of the woods but I decided not to go with that in the end. The viewer and the poem is essentially the sixth image, if that makes sense?!

If I had to pick just one image out of the selection it would be the final one but I prefer them as a set. It gives a real sense of place but looking out towards the universe. You get the feeling you as the viewer are in the woods. Although enclosed in this cocoon of nature in the woods seemingly so confined, you look up to the sky to the universe and realise how insignificant we are or society is.   At least that’s how I feel. I’m alone but I’m not lonely, I’m surrounded by friends.

dsc_3264

To the Universe

Leave a Reply

